Narine leads Wellman Masters to title

first_imgRamesh Narine spurred Mike’s Wellman to the Masters’ Over-40 title while Grill Masters beat Regal All-Stars to take the Open title in the annual Republic Cup last Sunday at the Everest Cricket Club ground. In the championship match, Narine stroked 52 (3×6; 5×4) to setup Wellman Masters’ five-wicket victory with three balls to spare in fading light.Set 164 to win from their 20 overs, the champions got useful knocks from skipper Wayne Jones and opener Ian Ramdeen who both weighed in with 28 runs each while Greg De Franca and Nandram Samlall got them over the rope.Laurie Singh gave Fed-Up Masters an excellent start with the ball, sending back openers Ramdeen and Eon Lovell (01) very early. However, Narine and Jones consolidated and almost to put the run chase to bed before disaster struck. The dismissals of the two left-handers and Lloyd Ruplall (05) brought the opposition back into the game.With 24 needed from 12 balls and five wickets in hand, Nandram and De Franca swung for the fences and cashed in on the small outfield. De Franca finished with 12 (2×4) from four balls and Samlall 21 (3×4).Singh finished with 3 for 36. Earlier, after being sent in; Fed-Up Master’s total of 163/7 was built around 57 from captain Mohamed Rafeek and 47 from Troy Lewis.Man of the Match, Narine claimed 1-32 (4), Latchman Kallicharran 2-19 (4) and Imtiaz Mohamed 2-36 (4).On their way to the final, Fed-Up Masters (158-6) beat Fishermen Masters (104 all out) by 54 runs while Mike’s Wellman (179/3) beat Regal Masters (139/9) by 40 runs. Narine blasted an unbeaten 83 from 37 balls (10×6; 2×4) and picked up 4 for 26 with the ball to crown a good day at the office. In the All-Star final, Richard Latif stole the show to hand Grill Masters an easy 17-run victory over the star-studded Regal All Stars.Grill Masters lost Balram Samaroo, caught behind off Suraj Boodhoo without scoring at 8-1.Latif then joined opener Chien Gittens and the pair took the score to 124-2 in the 15th over when Gittens lost his leg stump  to a fired up Shilendra Ramnauth for 48 (6×4; 1×6). Latif and David Lucknauth added 65 runs from 33 balls for the third wicket. Lucknauth finished on 20 from 10 balls while Latif who brought up his 100 in the 19th over was undone off the final ball of the innings for 103. In all, he faced 63 balls and hit seven fours and five sixes as the Grill Masters finished on a commanding 189 for 3 from their 20 overs. Boodhoo (1-17), Sachin Singh (1-20) and Ramnauth (1-22) finished with one wicket each.In reply, Regal All-Stars were off to a positive start with Sachin Singh (23) and Patrick Rooplall (11) putting on 29 for the first wicket from 3.1 overs. However, after they were dismissed within the space of three overs. the rest of the batting fell away except for Sewchand Budhu who made 22.Bowling for Grill Masters Chandrashekal Arjune claimed 3 for 33, Gittens 2 for 16 and Latif 2-25. The annual tournament was organized by the Georgetown Softball Cricket League Inc (GSCL) and was sponsored by Regal Stationery and Computer Centre and Regal Sport of Seaforth Street Campbellville. This year’s tournament was used as valuable practice ahead of the Florida Cup which is scheduled for April 12 to 14 in Fort Lauderdale, USA.last_img read more